HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting 2022

September 30, 2022 - October 3, 2022 | Gaylord National Harbor | Washington, DC

2022 Awards

Don't miss the following award presentations, taking place at this year's HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting, September 30 - October 3, 2022 at the Gaylord National Harbor, just outside of Washington, DC. 

2022 Award Winners
Awards to be Presented

The HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Executive Council of the HFSA. The purpose of this award is to recognize a lifetime body of work by an individual who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the field of heart failure. This year's two awardees will be recognized on Saturday, October 1.


The purpose of the HFSA Nursing Research Leadership Award is to recognize extraordinary achievement and excellence in nursing that improves outcomes of patient with heart failure.


The purpose of the HFSA Nursing Clinical Excellence Leadership Award is to recognize and support clinical nursing excellence by a registered nurse who works directly with heart failure (HF) patients, their families, and other nurses providing HF services.


HFSA offers three investigator award competitions to recognize research excellence in young trainees and investigators. Finalists will be chosen from abstracts submitted this year. Finalists will present their work orally in scientific sessions and receive recognition during the meeting.

Outstanding Heart Failure Care Team Award

New in '22! The Outstanding Heart Failure Care Team Award celebrates the accomplishments of a Heart Failure Care team, collectively. Everyone on the team would be recognized.

Distinguished HFSA Member Award

New in '22! The Distinguished HFSA Member Award is intended to celebrate a member’s body of work in the field of heart failure and their work and service to the Heart Failure Society of America. The Award is intended for non-physician members of HFSA.

Distinguished Leadership Award

New in '22! The HFSA Distinguished Leadership Award celebrates a leader in the field of heart failure in the areas of education and mentorship.

Pioneer Award

New in '22! The HFSA Pioneer Award is given to an innovator and pioneer in the field of heart failure. The Award notes the HFSA member’s innovative role in heart failure which helps to set the stage for future generations of heart failure providers. 


The Heart Failure Collaboratory (HFC) and HFSA come together to identify young investigators and study coordinators who have an aptitude for clinical research and performed well throughout the year. The annual awards recognize the top Research Site, Principal Investigators and Site Coordinators.

Key Lectures
Thomas L. Force Lecture

The Thomas L. Force Lecture lecture honors the work the late HFSA past president did to bring important basic and translational research to the annual meeting and is delivered each year by someone whose work is focused on these areas of research. 

Mihai Gheorghiade Lecture

The annual Mihai Gheorghiade Lecture takes place as just one component of an ASM session that puts the spotlight on global innovations in the care of patients with HF. The lecture honors Dr. Gheorghiade – a frequent past ASM faculty member – who made significant contributions to the field on an international scale.