JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD

JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD, FHFSA

2022 HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Professor of Medicine, Medical Director, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD, FHFSA was named the ​2022 HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD is a Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine and Samuel S. Riven, MD Director in Heart Failure and Heart Transplantation at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN. She completed her medical degree at the University of Michigan Medical School in Ann Arbor, MI and her cardiology fellowship at the University of Texas in San Antonio, TX. Dr. Lindenfeld is currently a member of the steering committee of major completed and ongoing national and international trials, including COAPT, GUIDE-HF, BEAT-HF, and RELIEVE-HF.   She has served on the Food and Drug Administrations (FDA) Cardiorenal Advisory Panel for 8 years, the Cardiovascular Devices Panel for 4 years.. She was Chair of the Heart Failure Society of America Clinical Practice Guidelines published in 2006 and 2010, served as Vice-President of the Heart Failure Society of America from 2012 to 2014, and President of the Heart Failure Society of America 2015-2016 during which time she expanded the involvement of nurses and pharmacists in the society and involved patients in the activities of the society.  . She is a member and Fellow of the Heart Failure Society of America, a Fellow of the American Heart Association, a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology, a member of the American Society of Transplantation, and a member of the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation. Dr. Lindenfeld has authored more than 400 manuscripts and 25 book chapters.  He is currently on the Editorial Board of the European Heart Journal and the Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation and is a founding member of the Heart Failure Collaboratory.. Her work has informed national policy makers on the treatment of heart failure and the implementation of heart transplantation and mechanical circulatory support.