Taking the ABIM AHFTC Board or MOC Exam in November? Prepare with the HFSA AHFTC Board Certification Review!

Fellowship Designation (FHFSA)

HFSA offers members the opportunity to gain a fellowship designation with the FHFSA program, open to all members who meet the minimum requirements.


Fellowship is one of the most distinguished designations the HFSA can offer its members, and is a tremendous recognition of professional achievement and contributions to the society. The designation is based on outstanding credentials, achievements, and contributions to heart failure medicine.

Those who are elected to fellowship demonstrate to peers and patients their commitment to quality heart failure care through use of the FHFSA designation. Fellow participants enhance their knowledge of heart failure issues and obtain valuable professional experience that enriches their careers.

Requirements for Fellowship Designation

Individuals, regardless of discipline or profession, who have a minimum of 2 years of HFSA membership and meet the requirements below, are eligible to apply for Fellowship Recognition. Please see the schedule to determine when your completed application will be reviewed and status communicated.

  • Fellowship status is open to all members independent of degree.

  • Have been a dues paying member of HFSA for at least 2 consecutive years

  • Must be current HFSA member in good standing.

  • Must devote at least 50% of professional time to the broadly defined fields of heart failure, cardiac transplantation, mechanical assist devices, or heart failure research.

  • Two letters of recommendation from either an HFSA Board of Directors Member(s), a current HFSA Committee Chair(s), a Past President(s) of HFSA or an active FHFSA member (see list of FHFSA members above)

Must meet at least two of the following criteria: 

  • Certification in heart failure appropriate for degree

    • For MD – ABIM Advanced Heart Failure/Transplant Cardiology or HFSA Heart Failure Certification

    • For RN/APN/PA/Pharm D – HFSA Heart Failure Certification or AAHFN Certified Heart Failure Nurse, as appropriate

  • Significant past or current contributions to HFSA (e.g. abstract reviewer, speaker/moderator at annual meeting, committee member, published in JCF, etc.)
  • Primary area of clinical care or research in heart failure, either verified by position title, appointment, or letter from Division/Department Chief/Service Chief (e.g., the advanced heart failure/transplant director) or Clinical Director /Manager/Dean

Please Note: Maintenance of FHFSA is contingent upon active membership.

2021 Honorary International Fellows

At the HFSA 2021 Annual Scientific Meeting, five exceptional individuals will be named Honorary International Fellows of the Heart Failure Society of America (FHFSA).

  • Dirk L Brutsaert, MD, PhD
  • Anique Ducharme, MD, MSc, FRCP
  • Carolyn Lam, MBBS, PhD, MRCP, MS, FACC, FAMS, FESC
  • Sergio V. Perrone MD
  • Giuseppe Rosano, MD, PhD
  • Theresa A. McDonagh

Application Schedule & Deadlines


Date Application Submitted

Date Review Process Begins

Date of Notification

January 8, 2024 - May 10, 2024

May 2024 July 2024
Application Fee and Details

Application Fee – $250.00

  • Applicants will be invoiced upon application approval. Please note that applications will not be processed without completion of required information fields.

  • Applications must be accompanied with the required letters of recommendation (as described on the “Requirements for Fellowship Designation” tab, see content below).

  • Applicants will be notified of their status following the close of each review session. If approved for FHFSA designation you will receive a certificate and pin; which indicate your designation status.


For additional questions or to require additional information regarding the FHFSA Designation, please contact Taylor Stempel at 301-312-8635 ext. 232 or tstempel@hfsa.org.