Access OnDemand Recordings with the HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting Virtual Meeting Platform!

HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award

The HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Executive Council of the HFSA. The purpose of this award is to recognize a lifetime body of work by an individual who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the field of heart failure.

Supported by Cytokinetics

2022 Award Information 

  • Deadline for Submission: Closed

  • Award Presentation: HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting 2022 (September 30 – October 3, 2022 | Gaylord National, National Harbor, MD)

  • Notification to Award Winner: December 2021


Any living individual whose career has focused on heart failure may be nominated. The award will be made on the basis of the recipient’s contributions as follows:

  • Advancement of scientific knowledge, either basic or clinical research directly to heart failure
  • Improvement in the practice of treating patients with heart failure
  • Demonstrated service to the mission of the HFSA

Evaluation of nominees and selection of the recipient will be chosen by a majority vote of the Lifetime Achievement Award Committee and submitted to the HFSA Executive Council for approval.

Submission and Nomination Process

Each Nomination should consist of:

  1. A letter of recommendation from a nominator which should highlight the nominees’ career in detail (2 pages maximum)
  2. Copy of an up-to-date curriculum vitae (including publications)

Nominations may only be made by HFSA members in good standing. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Previous Winners are not eligible for this Award!

Nominations are carried forward from the previous three years but information submitted may need to be updated and re-submitted. Materials resubmitted should include any significant developments or contributions which have occurred since the previous submission.

Past Award Winners

2020 – John C. Burnett, Jr., MD

2019 – Dr. Douglas L. Mann, MD, FHFSA

2018 – Marvin A. Konstam, DM, FACC, FAHA, FHFSA

2017 – Barry H. Greenberg, MD, FHFSA

2016 – Marc Pfeffer, MD, PhD, FHFSA

2015 – Sidney Goldstein, MD, FHFSA

2014 – Gary S. Francis, MD, FHFSA

2013 – Arthur M. Feldman, MD, PhD & Barry M. Massie, MD, FHFSA

2012 – Bertram Pitt MD, FHFSA

2011 – Kathy Dracup, PhD, FHFSA

2010 – Eugene Braunwald, MD, FHFSA

2009 – Kanu Chatterjee, MBBS, FRCP

2008 – Michael R. Bristow, MD, PhD, FHFSA

2007 – Arnold M. Katz, MD

2006 – Jay N. Cohn, MD, FHFSA


Lifetime Meritorious Service Award

2014 – Jay N. Cohn, MD, FHFSA

2013 – Barry M. Massie, MD, FHFSA


If you have questions, please contact