The HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting is happening NOW (Sept. 30-Oct. 3)!

Pioneer Award

The HFSA Pioneer Award is given to an innovator and pioneer in the field of heart failure. The Award notes the HFSA member’s innovative role in heart failure which helps to set the stage for future generations of heart failure providers. 

2021 Award Winners

Catch the 2022 winner at the HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting, September 30 - October 3! Learn more >>

2022 Award Information 

  • Submission period is currently CLOSED

  • Deadline for Submission: May 9, 2022

  • Award Presentation: HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting 2022 (September 30 – October 3, 2022 | Gaylord National, Washington, DC)

  • Notification to Award Winner: June 2022

  • Open to HFSA members of all professional disciplines (not including patient and caregivers)
  • Individuals that made significant contributions as an innovator and pioneer in the field of heart failure may be nominated
  • Past winners of the award are not eligible 

Evaluation of nominees and selection of the recipient will be chosen by a majority vote of the Awards Committee and submitted to the HFSA Board of Directors for approval.


Each nomination should consist of:

  • A Letter of recommendation from a nominator highlighting the individual’s innovative role in heart failure and how it influenced setting the stage for future generations of providers.
  • Nominee CV or resume

Nominations may only be made by HFSA members in good standing. Self-nominations will not be accepted.


If you have questions, please contact

View all HFSA awards >>