AHFTC Board Certification Review Early Bird Registration ends April 26

Distinguished Leadership Award

The HFSA Distinguished Leadership Award celebrates a leader in the field of heart failure in the areas of education and mentorship.

2023 Award Winner

2024 Award Information

  • Deadline for Submission: March 11, 2024
  • Award Presentation: HFSA Annual Scientific Meeting 2024 (September 27-30, 2024 | Atlanta, GA)
  • Notification to Award Winner: May 2024
  • Open to HFSA members and non-members, that demonstrated leadership in the field of heart failure in the areas of education and mentorship
  • Physicians, Nurses, Pharmacists, and Educators of mid and established career levels may be nominated
  • Past winners of the award are not eligible

Evaluation of nominees and selection of the recipient will be chosen by a majority vote of the Awards Committee and submitted to the HFSA Board of Directors for approval.


Each nomination should consist of:

  • A Letter of recommendation from a nominator highlighting the individual’s leadership in the field through education and mentorship including contact information of nominee (name, address, fax, phone, e-mail).
  • Nominee CV or resume

Nominations may only be made by HFSA members in good standing. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Past Award Winners

2022 – Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, FHFSA

2021 – Mariell Jessup, MD


If you have questions, please contact tstempel@hfsa.org.

View all HFSA awards >>